2018 May

Under-19 Cricket World Cup 2018

Written by admin

Under-19 Cricket World Cup 2018

The 2018 ICC Under-19 Cricket World Cup is an international limited-overs cricket tournament that was held in New Zealand from 13th January to 3rd February 2018. It was the twelfth edition of the Under-19 Cricket World Cup, and the third to be held in New Zealand (after the 2002 and 2010 events). New Zealand was the first country to host the event three times. The opening ceremony took place on 7th January 2018. The West Indies were the defending champions but they failed to defend their title.

Important facts of Under-19 Cricket World Cup 2018:

Host Country – New Zealand

Teams – Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka, West Indies, Zimbabwe, Namibia, Afghanistan, Kenya, Canada, Papua New Guinea, Ireland (16)

Winners – India, In the final, India beat Australia by 8 wickets to win their fourth Under-19 World Cup, the most by any side. Manjot Kalra (Ind) became the fifth batsman to score a hundred in an U19 World Cup final.

Runners-up – Australia

Player of the series – Shubman Gill (India)

Most runs – Alick Athanaze (West Indies)

Most Wickets – Anukul Roy, Qais Ahmed, Faisal Jamkhandi (14 wickets)

About the author