2018 May

Australian Open 2018

Written by admin

Australian Open 2018

The Australian Open is a tennis tournament held every year over the last fortnight of January in Melbourne, Australia. It was first held in 1905. Of the four Grand Slam tennis event played during the year, the Australian Open is the first to be played. The other three events are the French Open, Wimbledon and the US Open. It features men’s and women’s singles; men’s, women’s and mixed doubles and junior’s championships.

Title Winner Runner-up
Men’s Singles Roger Federer (Switzerland) Marin Cilic (Croatia)
Women’s Singles Caroline Wozniacki (Denmark) Simona Halep (Romania)
Mens’s Doubles Oliver Marach (Austria) and Mate Pavic (Croatia) Juan Sebastian Cabal and Robert Farah (Colombia)
Women’s Doubles Timea Babos (Hungary) and Kristina Mladenovic (France) Ekaterina Makarova and Elena Vesnina (Russia)
Mixed Doubles Gabriel Dabrowski (Canada) and Mate Pavic (Crotia) Timea Babos (Hungary) and Rohan Bopanna (India)

Important records of Australian Open:

  • Winner of most Men’s Singles titles: Novak Djokovic and Roger Federer (6)
  • Winner of most consecutive Men’s Singles titles: Novak Djokovic (3)
  • Winner of most Men’s Doubles titles: Bob Bryan and Mike Bryan (6)
  • Winner of most consecutive Men’s Doubles titles: Bob Bryan and Mike Bryan (3)
  • Winner of most Women’s Singles titles: Serena Williams (7)
  • Winner of most consecutive Women’s Singles titles: Margaret Court, Evonne Goolagong Cawley, Steffi Graf, Monica Seles, Martina Hingis (3)
  • Winner of most Women’s Doubles titles: Martina Navratilova (8)
  • Winner of most consecutive Women’s Doubles titles: Martina Navratilova, Pam Shriver (7)



About the author